What are the movements of the mass ordinary?

These chants conform to the basic portions of the Mass: the Proper (Introit, Gradual, Alleluia, Offertory, Communion), which changed with each day, depending upon the particular season or feast, and the Ordinary (Kyrie, Gloria, Credo, Sanctus, Agnus Dei, sometimes also the dismissal Ite missa est), which remained


Also know, what are the five movements of the ordinary of a Roman Catholic Mass?

The Ordinary consists of five parts: Kyrie (Lord have mercy upon us….), Gloria (Glory be to thee….), Credo (I believe in God the Father….), Sanctus (Holy, Holy, Holy….) and Agnus Dei (O Lamb of God…). The words of the mass that are not from the Ordinary are called the Proper.

Also Know, what is the difference between the ordinary and proper parts of the Mass? The Mass ordinary (Latin: Ordinarium Missae), or the Ordinarium parts of the Mass, is the set of texts of the Roman Rite Mass that are generally invariable. This contrasts with the proper (Proprium), which are items of the Mass that change with the feast or following the Liturgical Year.

People also ask, what is a mass ordinary cycle?

In Renaissance music, the cyclic mass was a setting of the Ordinary of the Roman Catholic Mass, in which each of the movements – Kyrie, Gloria, Credo, Sanctus, and Agnus Dei – shared a common musical theme, commonly a cantus firmus, thus making it a unified whole.

What is a mass setting?

Mass, in music, the setting, either polyphonic or in plainchant, of the liturgy of the Eucharist. The term most commonly refers to the mass of the Roman Catholic church, whose Western traditions used texts in Latin from about the 4th century to 1966, when the use of the vernacular was mandated.